Image

I started this poem- maybe 9 months ago- and it absolutely had no relationship to Pussy Riot – it refers to the general mistreatment of women in contemporary society and the misuse of our physical persons for political ends. The original inspiration was to relate the contemporary mistreatment of women to the mistreat of the Trojan women and portray the millennial persecution of women. It was recently rejected by a contest (boo hoo) and so I reread it today thinking I would torture myslef- but low and behold- I found a renewed love of the poem and now dedicate it to Pussy Riot-

The Prayers of Women often go unheard…

For years I prayed

to Saint Claire,

so that I may embrace my poverty

and make every moment of my life

testament.

 

I lit incense in doorways,

on makeshift alters

with The Pieta I took from the

house of a dead woman I never met.

 

For years I lit candles to

Saint Francis

rubbing the silver cross of my ancestors

smooth, just as they had

 

but when the priests screamed at the women

‘hairetikos!’ dragging them from temples  

I cried out like Hecuba:

 

‘What of these Gods now!?’

 

Where is their protection

for those years of devotion?

 

There is none,

for the prayers of women often go unheard

when a single man is god.

To stay up to date on the Pussy Riot Trial visit FreePussyRiot.org

 

A very rough Russian Translation:

 

Женщины молятся без ответов

 

В течение многих лет я молился

в St Clair

так, чтобы охватить бедность

и сделать каждое мгновение моей жизни

завет

 

Я зажег благовония в подъездах,

на самодельных алтарь

 с Пьета я взял из

  Дом мертвых женщина, которую я никогда не встречал.

 

В течение многих лет я зажег свечи

 Святой Франциск

 потирая серебряный крест моих предков

 гладкой, как у них

 

Но когда preists кричать на женщин

 “Hairetikos! Перетаскивая их из храмов

 Я закричала, как Гекуба:

 

 “Где бог сейчас?”

 Где их защиты

 для тех лет преданности?

 

есть никто

Женщины молятся без ответов

когда один человек является богом

